Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Contact Information for Members of the House Calendars Committee

Contact members of the Texas House Committee on Calendars

Urge Them to Send HB 2267 to the Floor of the House for a Vote.
HB 2267 Would Prohibit Death Sentences Under the Law of Parties.

Sample Message (change it to your own words) “Hello, I am calling to urge Representative X to vote in the Calendars Committee to send HB 2267, the Law of Parties bill, to the floor of the House for a vote. HB 2267 would require separate trials for co-defendants in capital trials and would prohibit the state from seeking the death penalty for people who do not kill anyone but are convicted under the Law of Parties. I do not believe it is fair to sentence someone to death, like Kenneth Foster was, if they did not kill anyone. Thank you”.

The Law of Parties allows people who "should have anticipated" a murder to receive the death penalty for the actions of another person who killed someone. A person sentenced to death under the Law of Parties has not killed anyone. They are accomplices or co-conspirators of one felony, such as robbery, during which another person killed someone.

Please contact your own state representative and at least some of the committee members on the list below. You can find out who your own representative is at:

Members of the House Committee on Calendars

Rep. Brian McCall (Chair) Plano Republican
Email form for McCall:
Room 1W.11, Capitol Bld.
Austin, TX 78701
(512) 463-0594 Phone
(512) 474-7512 Fax

Rep. Eddie Lucio III Democrat Cameron County
Email form for Lucio
Room EXT E1.318
P.O. Box 2910
Austin, TX 78768
(512) 463-0606 Phone
(512) 463-0660 Fax

Rep. Norma Chavez El Paso Democrat
Email form for Chavez
Room CAP GN.8
P.O. Box 2910
Austin, TX 78768
(512) 463-0622 Phone
(512) 478-6755 (Fax)

Rep. Garnet Coleman Houston Democrat
Email form for Coleman
Room GW.17, Capitol Building
Austin, TX 78701
(512) 463-0524 Phone
(512) 463-1260 Fax

Rep. Byron Cook Navarro County Republican
Email form for Cook
Room EXT E2.410
P.O. Box 2910
Austin, TX 78768
(512) 463-0730 Phone
(512) 463-2506 Fax

Rep. Brandon Creighton Conroe Republican
Email form for Creighton
Room EXT E1.412
P.O. Box 2910
Austin, TX 78768
(512) 463-0726 Phone
(512) 463-8428 Fax

Rep. Charlie Geren Tarrant County Republican
Email address:
Room E2.308, Capitol Extension
Austin, TX 78701
(512) 463-0610 Phone
(512) 463-8310 Fax

Rep. Jim Keffer (Eastland) Republican
Email form for Keffer
Room E2.418, Capitol Extension
Austin, TX 78701
(512) 463-0656 Phone
(512) 478-8805 Fax

Rep. Lois W. Kohlkorst (Brenham) Republican
Email form for Kohlkorst
Room E2.318, Capitol Extension
Austin, TX 78701
(512) 463-0600 Phone
(512) 463-5240 Fax

Rep. Edmund Kuempel Seguin Republican
Email form for Kuempel
Room CAP 3N.06
P.O. Box 2910
Austin, TX 78768
(512) 463-0602 Phone
(512) 480-0391 Fax

Rep. Jim McReynolds Lufkin Democrat
Email form for McReynolds
Room CAP 1W.3
P.O. Box 2910
Austin, TX 78768
(512) 463-0490 Phone
(512) 463-9059 Fax

Rep. Allen Ritter Jefferson County Democrat
Email form for Ritter
Room E2.406, Capitol Extension
Austin, TX 78701
(512) 463-0706 Phone
(512) 463-1861 Fax

Rep. Burt R. Solomons Denton County Republican
Email form for Solomons
Room E1.420, Capitol Extension
Austin, TX 78701
(512) 463-0478 Phone
(512) 463-2089 Fax

Sphere: Related Content

No comments: